ITIL® Intermediate: Service Transition (ST)

Course code: IST

Course description:

The ITIL® Service Transition training is one of the Lifecycle Stream modules. It can be treated as an independent training or as a step on the way to ITIL Expert certification.

The course familiarises participants with details of processes and roles of Service Transition. Practical exercises are an integral part of the training. The training ends with a formal ITIL Intermediate Service Transition examination.

The training course is accredited by the APM Group Ltd.


The aim of the training is to enable ITIL Foundation certificate holders for the effective application of good practices in the processes associated with Service Transition.

This course will enable participants to:

  • understand the importance of Service Transition in the general context of service management
  • understand the processes and principles of Service Transition
  • refer to the technologies of Service Transition
  • familiarize with the organization of Service Transition 
  • identify Critical Success Factors and identify the main risks related to Service Transition

Target group:

This course is for anyone interested in deepening knowledge of the stage of Service Tranition, best practices for improving the management of services and effective methods of improving processes, particularly for:

  • IT Directors,
  • Senior Management,
  • Project Managers,
  • process owners,
  • IT services owners,
  • testing managers,
  • people responsible for services implementation,
  • all who wish to gain practical knowledge of IT service management and service transition.


Candidates wishing to be trained and examined for this qualification must hold either:

  • the ITIL Foundation Certificate in IT Service Management (V3 or 2011) or
  • ITIL V2 Foundation plus Foundation Bridge certificates or
  • ITIL Expert Certificate in Service Management obtained via ITIL V3 Managers Bridge examination


3 days


Examination includes 8 multiple choice scenario-based questions. Answers are worth 5, 3, 1 or 0 marks. The duration is 90 minutes. Examination is run in English. No books and other materials allowed.

Candidates completing an exam in a language that is not their mother tongue are entitled to have extra time to complete the exam and are allowed to use a dictionary. You must achieve 28 or more out of possible 40 marks (70%) to pass this examination.

Table of contents:

-- Day 1 ---

  • Introduction to Service Transition,
  • Service Transition Principles,
  • Service Transition Processes: Planning and Support,
  • Service Transition Processes: Change management,
  • Service Transition Processes: Service Asset and Configuration Management,
  • Service Transition Processes: Release and Deployment Management.

-- Day 2 --

  • Evening Work Debrief,
  • Service Transition Processes: Service Validation and Testing,
  • Service Transition Processes: Evaluation,
  • Service Transition Processes: Knowledge management,
  • Managing People through Service Transition. 

-- Day 3 --

  • Evening Work Debrief,
  • Organizing for Service Transition,
  • Technology Considerations,
  • Implementing and Improving Service Transition,
  • Challenges, Risks and Critical Success Factors,
  • ITIL Intermediate Service Transition examination.



PRINCE2®, ITIL®, IT Infrastructure Library®, M_o_R®, P3O®, MSP®MoV®MoP® and P3M3® are registered trademarks of Axelos Ltd. The Swirl logo™ is a trademark of Axelos Ltd. The APMG-International Agile Project Management and Swirl Device logo is a trade mark of The APM Group Limited. The APMG-International Change Management and Swirl Device logo is a trade mark of The APM Group Limited. DSDM, Atern, AgileBA and AgilePM are Registered Trade Marks of Dynamic Systems Development Method Limited. 'PMI',  'Project Management Institute', 'PMP', 'CAPM', 'PMBOK' and PMI R.E.P. logo are registered trademarks of Project Management Institute, Inc.   Kinshasa logo and OMEC logo are registered trademarks of OMEC sp. z o.o.  TOGAF® is a registered trademark of The Open Group.  COBIT® 5 is a registered trademark of ISACA in United States and other countries. 


We offer accredited training courses and exams in project, programme and portfolio management, risk management and IT service management.
Our PRINCE2®, MSP®, P3O®, MoP®, M_o_R®, ITIL®, AgilePM
® and AgileBA® courses are accredited by relevant examination institutes.