ITIL® Intermediate: Service Design (SD)

Course code: ISD 

Course description:

The ITIL® Service Design training is one of the Lifecycle Stream modules. It can be treated as an independent training or as a step on the way to ITIL Expert certification.

The course familiarises participants with details of processes and roles of Service Design. Practical exercises are an integral part of the training. The training ends with a formal ITIL Intermediate Service Design examination.

The training course is accredited by the APM Group Ltd.


The aim of the training is to show ITIL Foundation certificate holders how to effectively apply best practices in processes related to the Service Design stage.

This course will enable participants to:

  • understand the meaning of Service Design in service management context,
  • understand Service Design processes and principles,
  • organise Service Design effectively,
  • learn Service Design methods,
  • learn how to implement Service Design,
  • analyse risks related to Service Design,
  • define Critical Success Factors related to Service Design.

Target group:

This training course is designed for all who require a deeper understanding of best practices to improve service management and effective methods of improving processes, particularly for:

  • IT Directors,
  • Senior Management,
  • Project Managers,
  • Service Designers,
  • IT Architects,
  • people responsible for services implementation,
  • business analysts,
  • all who wish to gain practical knowledge of IT service management and service design.


Candidates wishing to be trained and examined for this qualification must hold either:

  • the ITIL Foundation Certificate in IT Service Management (V3 or 2011) or
  • ITIL V2 Foundation plus Foundation Bridge certificates or
  • ITIL Expert Certificate in Service Management obtained via ITIL V3 Managers Bridge examination


3 days


Examination includes 8 multiple choice scenario-based questions. Answers are worth 5, 3, 1 or 0 marks. The duration is 90 minutes. Examination is run in English. No books and other materials allowed.

Candidates completing an exam in a language that is not their mother tongue are entitled to have extra time to complete the exam and are allowed to use a dictionary. You must achieve 28 or more out of possible 40 marks (70%) to pass this examination.

Table of contents:

-- Day 1 ---

  • Introduction to Service Design,
  • Service Design Principles,
  • Service Design Processes: Design Coordination,
  • Service Design Processes: Service Catalogue Management.

-- Day 2 --

  • Evening Work Debrief,
  • Service Design Processes: Service Level Management,
  • Service Design Processes: Capacity Management,
  • Service Design Processes: Availability Management,
  • Service Design Processes: IT Service Continuity Management,
  • Service Design Processes: Information Security Management,
  • Service Design Processes: Supplier Management,
  • Service Design Technology-Related Activities.

-- Day 3 --

  • Evening Work Debrief,
  • Service Design Technology-Related Activities,
  • Organizing for Service Design,
  • Consideration of Technology,
  • Implementation and Improvement of Service Design,
  • Challenges, Risks and Critical Success Factors,
  • ITIL Intermediate Service Design examination.



PRINCE2®, ITIL®, IT Infrastructure Library®, M_o_R®, P3O®, MSP®MoV®MoP® and P3M3® are registered trademarks of Axelos Ltd. The Swirl logo™ is a trademark of Axelos Ltd. The APMG-International Agile Project Management and Swirl Device logo is a trade mark of The APM Group Limited. The APMG-International Change Management and Swirl Device logo is a trade mark of The APM Group Limited. DSDM, Atern, AgileBA and AgilePM are Registered Trade Marks of Dynamic Systems Development Method Limited. 'PMI',  'Project Management Institute', 'PMP', 'CAPM', 'PMBOK' and PMI R.E.P. logo are registered trademarks of Project Management Institute, Inc.   Kinshasa logo and OMEC logo are registered trademarks of OMEC sp. z o.o.  TOGAF® is a registered trademark of The Open Group.  COBIT® 5 is a registered trademark of ISACA in United States and other countries. 


We offer accredited training courses and exams in project, programme and portfolio management, risk management and IT service management.
Our PRINCE2®, MSP®, P3O®, MoP®, M_o_R®, ITIL®, AgilePM
® and AgileBA® courses are accredited by relevant examination institutes.